Scrambled Eggs

My parents recently downsized and moved from Austin, Texas to an apartment in Temple. I have teased my mom over the years for being a pack rat, but on a recent visit, I discovered that I’m glad she saved every letter and card I’ve ever sent her.

I found a letter that I wrote to mom in March 1988, shortly after Paul and I moved from Austin to San Antonio. I read the letter and laughed so hard, I could hardly talk. I  had forgotten about my ongoing quest to learn to make scrambled eggs. Here is part of my letter:

“Hi Mom,

This is just a little note to say get well soon, and I hope you have a speedy recovery….Since they say laughter is the best medicine, I thought I’d tell you about my latest endeavor with scrambling eggs. Since today is Paul’s first day at work, I figured I’d make him eggs and biscuits. I found a recipe for scrambled eggs, and everything went smoothly until it came time to cook them. The recipe said to cook the eggs on medium high, which I thought was weird because I’ve heard they should be cooked on low. Anyway, since I always follow directions, I put the heat on medium high and went about my own business. All of a sudden, I heard a noise, and when I checked my eggs, they were boiling like you wouldn’t believe. Needless to say, they turned out rubbery, but Paul ate them anyway. I wouldn’t have touched them with a ten foot pole. Since practice makes perfect, I’m going to try again tomorrow, this time on low heat.” 

The next letter I wrote to mom contained the following:

Hi Mom,

Are you up and around yet?…Do you think y’all might be able to come visit us this weekend? I’ve enclosed some instructions just in case. Speaking of instructions, thanks for the tip on scrambled eggs. I’ve never tried stirring them before.”

Mom and I laughed like maniacs. I’m never going to tease her again about saving cards and letters. I wrote many letters to my parents after we moved away from Austin, and reading those brought back so many fun memories.

I make pretty good scrambled eggs now – without a recipe.

 

One thought on “Scrambled Eggs

Leave a comment