“Funny the Way It Is”

“Lying in the park on a beautiful day
Sunshine in the grass and the children play
Sirens passing, fire engine red
Someone’s house is burning down on a day like this.”

Source: azlyrics.com

Dave Matthews Band. “Funny the Way It Is.” Big Whiskey and the GrooGrux King. RCA. 2009. Audio CD.

I heard this song by the Dave Matthews Band when it was released around 2009. The contrast of life and death present throughout the song makes me think outside my own little world and regain a bigger perspective. I usually think about this song on September 11 every year and post it to Facebook because it seems to fit.

This time, the song has been on my mind since December 26, 2015, when I heard the news that a former classmate of John’s from middle school died suddenly. He was 16 years old.

This afternoon a precious mom buried her only child, and this evening I’ll be going to watch my 16-year old son in a wrestling match.  “Funny the way it is.”

Source: SoDamnLucky27. “Dave Matthews Band, Funny the Way it Is.” YouTube. YouTube. 17 July, 2009. Web. 5 Jan. 2016.

7 thoughts on ““Funny the Way It Is”

    • The funeral today was something else. Hunter played football, and his teammates wore their jerseys. I saw some big burly football players with red and puffy eyes. I’ve just been going through the motions today and pondering life and death. The laundry can wait until tomorrow.

      • It definitely can wait.

        You never really want kids to have to deal with the death of a friend. When I was 9, a 10-year-old friend was killed in a gun accident; I was terrified to turn 10 because I thought I’d die too.

        I’m hoping for the best for the boys … they shouldn’t be afraid to cry. 😦

      • Wow! That’s awful. I wish John had gone to the funeral, but I didn’t want to force the issue. It’s hard to get a read on him sometime. Should I talk about Hunter? Should I not talk about Hunter? I remember when my sister’s classmate in 2nd grade was hit by a car and killed. Most of the second graders went to the funeral. I was scared of crossing streets for a long time after that.

      • I think John will probably bring it up when/if he feels comfortable. Since he’s older than we were when that stuff happened, he’s probably got a much better grasp on it than we did.

  1. Hey hermana! Very beautiful and poignant!!  Thanks for sharing with “us” in your blog~ Hugs, love and a kitty smooch, Laura

    From: Cheaper than Therapy To: lauraslonaker@yahoo.com Sent: Tuesday, January 5, 2016 2:03 PM Subject: [New post] “Funny the Way It Is” #yiv8713727545 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8713727545 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8713727545 a.yiv8713727545primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8713727545 a.yiv8713727545primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8713727545 a.yiv8713727545primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8713727545 a.yiv8713727545primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8713727545 WordPress.com | sdkricard posted: “”Lying in the park on a beautiful day Sunshine in the grass and the children play Sirens passing, fire engine red Someone’s house is burning down on a day like this.”Source: azlyrics.comDave Matthews Band. “Funny the Way It Is.” Big Whiskey and th” | |

    • Gracias, hermana. John didn’t go to the funeral today, but I saved a bulletin in case he wants to look at it later. I was in my 30’s before a friend my age died. I remember one of your classmates died in 2nd grade when he was hit by a car. I can’t imagine going through something like that as a parent.

      Thanks for the kitty smooch. Charlie and Josie send a kitty smooch and puppy slobber.

Leave a Reply

